2010 NRL Grand Final Results

October 4th, 2010

The 2010 NRL Grand Final was contested on Sunday, October 3.  The St George Dragons and Sydney Roosters locked in battle for the Premiership flag, and though the Roosters put on an impressive first half battle, it was the Dragons who emerged victorious by a massive 32-8.

The Sunday NRL Grand Final match at ANZ stadium started off as a raging battle between the two teams.  The Roosters were in top form in the first half as both Braith Anasta and Mitchell Aubusson scored tries for the underdog team.  It looked like they were set to achieve the biggest NRL turnaround in more than 60 years as they went into the half break with a two-point lead.  Though, it was to be the only two scoring plays for the Sydney team as the Dragons came back from the break to score an amazing four unanswered tries (Jason Nightingale x 2, Dean Young, Nathan Fien) to not only pull ahead of their NRL Grand Final rivals, but to absolutely demolish them.

The win cements coach Wayne Bennett’s status as the best coach in NRL history as he has now accumulated an astounding seven Premiership flags.  Not only that, but he also led the St George-Illawarra team to their first NRL Grand Final since they became a joint venture.  Widely known for choking when it came to the Grand Finals, the Dragons have now achieved the title that has eluded them for so long – a feat that has Dragon fans and punters cheering wildly on the heels of the win.

The St George Dragons finish another year of Rugby League as both the Minor Premiers and Premiership champions.

2010 NRL Grand Final Results

Date Stadium Winner Runner-Up Score
03/10/10 ANZ Stadium St George Dragons Sydney Roosters 32-8